EAC Logo

National Bodies of Standards in the East-African Community

National Bureaux of Standards


This chapter provides for an overview on the national standards bodies within the region. For further information we recommend a visit to their websites.

National Legal Metrology Organisations

In Kenya and Tanzania, legal metrology (weights and measures) is handled by separate entities:

Kenya Weights and Measures Department (WMD)
Tanzania Weights and Measures Agency (WMA)

see also
Kenya Bureau of Standards
Rwanda Standards Board 
Tanzania Bureau of Standards 
Uganda National Bureau of Standards
www.unbs.go.ug Tanzania Weights and Measures Agency (WMA) www.wma.go.tz